Feeds:
Posts
Comments

Archive for May 25th, 2010

Ouch.

Yesterday, I went to dance class.  That was expected.

Today, my leg muscles are angry knotted messes.  That was also expected.

Why do I do this to myself??  Is it because the shoes are so cute?

These are not MY ghillies, as I do not usually bring them to work.

They are pretty cute shoes, actually.  And since I have tiny little child-feet anyway, MY ghillies are crazy small.  They’re leather and kinda stretchy meaning that they have to fit super well or else you will trip over your toes all the time while dancing, and probably wind up with a really nice cut/scrape/bloody nose.  Fun times!  Also, and I apologize if this is TMI, since they fit tightly you have to make sure your nails are clipped short in order to dance in them or else you will be limping around trying to jump and stuff, and it will be miserable.

Nah, it can’t be the shoes.  Maybe it’s the music?

The fiddle, mandolin, and guitar are the instruments used most in our dance music. But aren't harps beautiful?

I will admit that I love Celtic music.  The slow stuff is haunting and beautiful, and the faster tunes are usually lilting, happy, and so much fun.  If there are traditional lyrics they’re probably touching (slow music) or funny (fast music) and I appreciate both.  One of my favorite silly old Irish songs is about a man who dreams and dreams about the wonderful life his daughter will have once she marries — he pictures her with a prince or a sea captain or a wealthy landowner, and then she goes and falls in love with the town shoemaker and makes her dad want to pull all his hair out.  It’s kinda ridiculous really… but I can listen to it anytime I want at home.  No need to kill myself in dance class for that.

Hmm.  Maybe it’s not the music either.  Could it be the fun opportunities to go to festivals and parades in order to perform?

Coming up in June!

Oh, yes.  Please, let me put on a black dress and go out in the June heat and Washington-area humidity at 4 o’clock in the afternoon to dance myself to death in front of a crowd of strangers.  Sounds great.

Oh yeah, that’s right.  I don’t actually like performing.  I just do it because I like festivals and my classmates and don’t want to let them down.  It can’t be that either then.

So why do I insist on making myself a sore, limping, pathetic mess every Tuesday and Wednesday following Irish dance class?  Hmm.

I suppose it’s because it’s a challenge.  It’s something I had never done before (I’m a newbie, only nine months into lessons!) and a serious workout, and something I wasn’t entirely sure I could do.  But I’m doing it, and I really am learning, and I suppose in some weird way that makes is fun.  It’s satisfying, at the very least, to drive home from class all sweaty and shaky and exhausted, but proud because I know I worked hard and did the steps I have learned and, if all went well, did it just a little bit better than last time.

That’s really how I want to live my whole life.  I want to try something new, and work hard and do it better, and be proud of myself for making it.  I hope I can always find ways to challenge myself like that.  =)

So that’s my bragging moment.  Your turn!  What, my friends, are you proud of yourself for accomplishing?  I want to pat you on the back, so ‘fess up!

Read Full Post »